• Happy Premiere of Superman TV Series (1952)! 🔫🚂🏢

Poll: Drill wood inwales or drill kevlar hull for float bag cage?

Where to drill?

• Drill hull

Votes: 1 16.7%
  • Drill inwales

Votes: 5 83.3%

• Total voters
Reaction score
A decision has been made.
The Wildfire will get a saddle and bags. Saddle design is settled, but I'm indecisive about the bag cage. Two choices - drill holes in the gunwales for mini D-rings, or drill holes in the hull, such as I did in the Millbrook Coho. IMG_20240814_170933237.jpg

D-rings attached to the bottom of the inwales look cleaner. That's what I have on my Solo 14. But I suspect that holes in the hull will be lighter (and definitely cheaper). Also don't think I want to compromise the inwales - but it's always scary drilling holes in a hull. What to do? Just for fun, how about a poll?...

I didn't vote because I have zero experience with a Kevlar hull. Pretty much all my Royalex boats have a variety of holes used for gear cages mostly, flotation rarely.

A minor bonus with the holes in the hull, sometimes you just need to get to shore and roll the boat over to get rid of a boatload of water, those hull holes are a way for that last bit that would normally get caught on the inwales to drip out.

I would think that the holes in the inwales for tiny D rings would be much smaller in diameter than those in the hull shown in your post. In addition they would be filled with screws, rather than open. It seems to me that they wouldn't weaken the gunwales much. I screwed metal Mini D rings into the inwales of my Mad River ME 30+ years ago for flotation bags and have had no issues. I think though that They are beefier rails than those on a Wildfire. Drilling holes in the Innegra hull of my Phoenix for snaps for a CCS cover was stressful. I would vote for doing the gunwales.