• Happy Invention of Scotch Tape (1930)! 🏴󠁧󠁢󠁳󠁣󠁴󠁿🧻3️⃣🇲

Keels: Yeah or Nay?

Glenn MacGrady

Administrator
Staff member
Reaction score
Do you like or dislike or feel neutral about keels on wood/canvas canoes? Why? Does it depend on circumstances? What?

I haven't particularly liked them on the three canoes I've had. My paddling skills are more than sufficient to keep any keelless canoe going straight, and a keel limits maneuverability unless you heel the canoe off the keel. There are two things I'll say in a keel's favor. It helps a little to keep a canoe from windcocking and leecocking in winds, and it helps to protect the bottom of the canoe from some bottom bumps and scratches.

They have a place on a w/c canoe, for composite or plastic boats.....no thanks!

I have no problem with keels..... as long as they're on someone else's canoe.

Actually I have very little experience with keeled canoes. Just the aluminum tandems I used as a kid. They were never really a problem on our sluggish rivers and little lakes but since graduating to nicer hulls I've never found myself wishing I had a keel.

Alan

My limited experience with keels is that they do nothing for paddling performance. Possibly May strengthen the hull or make for ease of construction?

When wilderness tripping I have found keels to stick to underwater logs or rocks where other smooth bottom shallow arch canoes often act much more slippery and glide off those objects much more easily.

Bob.

Perhaps Benson will chime in but I have always understood that keels on w/c hulls were for protection not directional aid. Could there also be a structural strength component? The three I have had did not have keels…one was a redone OT and two were more modern Loon Works boats.

I'm in the Nay-camp. My W/C Otca with a keel leaks. No wonder with the dozen of screws through the canvas holding the cursed thing.

On my Carlton, a previous owner removed it when he or she recanvassed it (Thank you!).