• Happy Birthday, Grandma Moses (1860-1961)! 🎨🖌️🖼️

Hey from Western PA!

Reaction score
Hello!
I'm been lurking for a few weeks now so I thought I'd join the group.
My wife and I have been paddling for 50+ years but we didn't really have boat control skills until about 20 years ago when we joined 3 Rivers Paddling club and learned just how little we knew for those 1st 30 years. We still have a lot to learn but we no longer bicker like in the early days. We've open boated up to class 3 and we've also done some great raft trips up to class 5.
We day paddle, and we love to do multi day trips but we don't get out as often as we'd like. 2 canoe household...Wenonah Rogue in royalex for running rivers and a Wenonah Escape in carbon for flatwater.
We are beginning to be frustrated with BWCA permitting system and now the prohibition on blue barrels for food storage so we are looking for advice on some other wilderness trips. Maine is on my radar.

Tom, welcome to site membership! Feel free to ask any questions and to post messages, photos and videos, and to start threads, in our many forums. Please read Welcome to CanoeTripping and Site Rules! Many of the site's technical features are explained in Features: Help and How-To Running Thread. We look forward to your participation in our canoe community.

We have many members from your general area, and there are lots of paddling places other than the BWCA discussed in our many and ever-expanding trip threads and paddling destination threads. You have nice tandems for both white and flat water.

Welcome to the campfire, Tom. I’m not planning to go back to the BWCA this fall either.
Jim
Thanks Jim.
We pretty much decided that this will be our last trip to B.W.
We have a launch permit for next month.
N Fowl lake was our "plan D". We were logged in at the very moment they opened for permits and our plans A, B, and C were instantly sold out!